Vane: “All these things. Porcelain, books. All so goddamn fragile. The energy it must take to maintain it all. And for what? I can understand a woman’s desire for domesticity — but a man’s?”

Flint: “I can’t understand how you cannot understand. You have no instinct towards earning for yourself a life more comfortable?”

Vane: “I don’t. And had I that instinct, I would resist it. For that is the single most dangerous weapon they possess. The one they tempt. ‘Give us your submission and we will give you all the comfort you need.’ I can think of no measure of comfort worth that price.”


چارلز وین: "همه این چیزها. چینی، کتاب ها. همشون خیلی آسیب پذیر و شکننده انرژی برای سالم نگه داشتنشون نیازه. و در ازاش چیه؟ میتونم علاقه یه زن به خونه و زندگی زیباش رو درک کنم. ولی علاقه یه مرد؟اینو نمیتونم"

فلینت:"منم نمیتونم درک کنم چطور تو نمیتونی درک کنی؟هیچ وقت غریزه فراهم کردن یه زندگی راحت تر رو نداشتی؟"

چارلز وین: "ندارم. و اگه این غریزه رو داشتم با تمام توانم باهاش مقابله میکردم. چون خطرناک ترین سلاحیه که دارن. اونی که باهاش آدم رو وسوسه میکنن. اطاعتت رو به ما بده و ما به تو آرامشی که میخوای رو میدیم. نه واقعا فکر نمیکنم هیچ آرامشی همچین ارزشی رو داشته باشه."